What Happens to my Coverage if my Job Status Changes?

ne of the responsibilities of the North Carolina Department of Insurance is to inform the

insurance buying public. The purpose of this brochure is to help employers and employees

better understand their responsibilities and rights under North Carolina’s employer group
health insurance continuation laws.

These state continuation laws allow employees who terminate employment or lose their eligibility
under an employer group health insurance plan to continue coverage under the plan if certain steps
are taken. For this reason it is very important that you know and understand your rights and
responsibilities. Remember to always take time to read the materials your insurance company or
agent gives you and ask questions.
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State Continuation

Our state continuation laws allow terminated
employees and members to continue coverage under
their employer’s group health plan when they
terminate employment or lose their eligibility under
the plan. State Continuation applies to fully insured
plans purchased in North Carolina.

Under State Continuation guidelines, employees who
terminate employment for any reason, or whose
hours are reduced, or loses eligible employee status
may continue their basic health insurance coverage
for up to 18 months. Upon termination or loss of
eligible status, dependants covered by the policy will
also be able to continue coverage for 18 months.
Unlike COBRA, State Continuation laws do not
provide for extensions of coverage beyond 18
months under any circumstances.

For information concerning the Federal COBRA
continuation law please refer to the end of this brochure.

Eligibility
Continuation is available for any employee or covered
individual that has been continuously insured under a
group policy with the same employer for three

consecutive months immediately before the date of
termination from the group policy.

Continuation is not available to anyone who is or
could be covered by any similar employer or
governmental plan for hospital, surgical, or medical
coverage within 31 days immediately following the
date of termination, regardless of whether or not the
new coverage is elected.

Benefits

Hospital, surgical or major medical benefits must be
offered under State Continuation. Dental, vision
care and prescription drug benefits are not subject to
State Continuation guidelines, whether those benefits
are provided under the group policy or separately
from the group policy.

Notification

Each individual certificate of coverage must include a
notice of your right to continue your group health

insurance policy. Notification may also be included
on insurance identification cards.

Although not required, the employer may give notice
orally or in writing as a part of the exit process from
employment.

How to Elect State Continuation

The employee or member must request continuation
in writing. This is usually accomplished by
completing a form furnished by the employer. The
employee or member may elect continuation, for a
period of at least 60 days, after the date of
termination or loss of eligibility.

All premiums required to bring the coverage current
must be paid to the employer, upon the election to
continue coverage. The coverage shall be reinstated
retroactive to the date of termination or loss of
eligibility. All subsequent continuation premiums
must be paid to the employer in advance.

Premiums cannot be more than the full group rate
plus a two-percent administration fee. (PLEASE
NOTE: There is no requirement for the employer to
subsidize or contribute any portion of the
continuation premiums.) Also, there is NO GRACE
PERIOD FOR PREMIUM PAYMENTS, therefore,
premiums must be paid on or before each due date.
However, individuals on State Continuation must be
allowed to pay premiums on a monthly basis. In
other words, a participant cannot be required to pay
premiums on a quarterly, semi-annual or annual
basis.

Termination

State Continuation will end on the earliest of the
following dates:

« 18 months after the beginning date of state
continuation;

 The date ending the period for which the
continuation participant last makes his/her
premium payment.

 The date the continuation participant becomes
or is eligible to become covered for similar



benefits under any form of group health
coverage, whether they elect coverage or not;

 The date which the group policy is terminated
or, in the case of a multiple employer health
plan, the date the employer terminates
participation under the group master policy. If
the employer replaces the group policy with
another group policy, the continuation
participant is entitled to continue under the
successor group policy for any unexpired
period of continuation.

The Employer’s Responsibilities
The employer is responsible for:

« Offering health insurance continuation to all
eligible employees and dependents as
required by State law;

* Furnishing all necessary continuation forms
to eligible participants so that a written
election of continuation can be made; and

* Accepting and remitting premium payments
to the insurance company in accordance
with plan guidelines.

Federal Law

The Employee’s Rights and
Responsibilities

The employee has the right to receive:

« Notification of his or her continuation rights;

« All necessary forms needed to apply for
continuation; and

» The opportunity to continue his or her
health insurance coverage in accordance with
state law.

The employee is responsible for:

 Requesting continuation from the employer;

e Completing and submitting all required
continuation forms to the employer;

 Paying premiums on time and in a manner
satisfactory to the employer IMPORTANT
REMINDER: THERE 1S NO PREMIUM
PAYMENT GRACE PERIOD AFTER THE
DUE DATE); and

* Being aware of all plan guidelines and
continuation rules.

Federal COBRA Continuation law applies to
employer groups covering 20 and more employees.
This law generally allows eligible

enrollees the right to continue under the employer
group health plan for up to 18 months. The
continuation period can be extended

beyond the 18-month period in some

situations. COBRA continuation law applies

to both insured and self-funded plans;

however, it does not apply to church plans,

plans covering less than 20 employees,

and plans covering federal employees.

Detailed information concerning your

rights under the Federal COBRA laws

can be obtained from the Pension and

Welfare Benefits Administration

Division (PWBA) of the U.S.

Department of Labor, Atlanta Regional

Office at (404) 562-2156. For a

complete list of publications provided by the PWBA
call their hotline at 1-800-998-7542. The U.S.
Department of Labor’s Web site at www.dol.gov/.



Frequently Asked Questions

Will the terms and provisions of my health insurance
change while on State Continuation?

You will be covered on the same basis as if your
employment status had not changed.

What happens at the end of the continuation period?
You may be able to convert your coverage to an
individual policy under the state conversion
provisions. You may also be eligible for an individual
guaranteed issue health insurance policy (HIPAA*
plan), in the event you are not eligible for other
group coverage or Medicare.

How to Reach Us

What happens if the employer cancels the group
policy or goes out of business?

The right to continue your group health insurance
will cease.

What happens if the employer switches to a new
health insurance company and/or plan?

If the employer replaces the group policy with
another group policy, the continuation participant is
entitled to continue under the successor group
policy for any unexpired period.

* Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act

How to Reach Us

You Can Reach the North Carolina Department of Insurance Consumer Services Division at:

800)546-5664
919)733-2032
)
)

Toll free

Qutside of North Carolina
919)715-0319
919)733-0085
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Fax

TDD (Telephone Device for Deaf Caller)

You can find additional information as well as a downloadable copy of our complaint form on the North
Carolina Department of Insurance web site at www.ncdoi.com.

The address for the North Carolina Department of Insurance Consumer Services Division is:

Consumer Services Division
North Carolina Department of Insurance

PO. Box 26387
Raleigh, NC 27611

Related Publications Available from the NCDOI and its Web Site

HMQO Performance Report

Managed Care Plan Consumer Guide
Guide to Appeals and Grievances

A Consumer’s Guide to State Continuation

Employer’s Guide to HIPAA Rights Regarding Health Insurance
Employees” Guide to HIPAA Rights Regarding Health Insurance
Your HIPAA Rights and Guide to Individual Health Insurance

Getting Off to a Good Start With Medicare
Medicare Changes and Options

Medicare + Choice Comparison Guide
Medicare Supplement Comparison Guide
Guide to Long-Term Care Insurance
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